McDonnell Scholarship

The John McDonnell Scholarship was established in March 2002 to recognize the significant contributions made by John McDonnell during his 33 years as a member of IAABO Board #6. John served as Board #6 President, Board #6’s rules interpreter for 22 years, Connecticut state interpreter for 4 years, and was the Assistant Chairperson for the IAABO parent organizations’ Training and Education Committee for several years. John was the consummate professional both as an official and as a clinician and mentor to several thousand officials at the high school and college levels. He was an excellent and thorough instructor and conducted numerous clinics throughout the United States, Canada and Bermuda. John officiated in the high school boys’ tournament for 27 years and worked 15 championship games. He also worked 22 years as a college official in the Big East, Ivy, Patriot, America East and the Atlantic Ten conferences. From fellow officials to coaches to administrators, there was nothing but high praise for John McDonnell’s ability, integrity and professionalism.

Scholarship Winners:

  • 2017: Mark Barile, John Degirolamo, Frankie Mandile, Tyrell Jones
  • 2016: Ryan Brown, Randy Ricketts, Frank Sesto, Kammy Spence
  • 2015: Ryan Giberson, Frank Prattson, Jr., Antonio Spinelli, Laura Vagnini
  • 2014: Steve Dowling, Steve Migneault, Scott Robidoux, Derrick Silliman
  • 2013: Mike Calabrese, Bill Haflin, Ryan Nowobilski, Zhanna Virkerman
  • 2012: Mike Flannery, Ryan Giberson, Alyssa Mansolf, Dave Thibodeau
  • 2011: Dawn Shoop, Rafael Morales, Pancho Torres and Janessa Leahy
  • 2010: Valerie Light, Leanne Slattery, Matthew Mace and Mark Manson
  • 2009: Dave Simpson and Tony Santos
  • 2008: Wilson Tirado, Mike Reaves and Rick Seip
  • 2007: Joe Salamone, Mike Medina, Sheldon Cosby and Tony Cekovsky
  • 2006: Patrick Sweeney, Patrick Moriarty and Fortney Tyler
  • 2005: Steve DeBiasi, Ben Alaimo and Chris Parker
  • 2004: Tom Leahy
  • 2003: Jay Salerno
McDonnell Scholarship Guidelines
McDonnell Scholarship Application